BEST Red Velvet Cupcake in KL!

Recently, the red velvet cupcakes have been a BIG hit everywhere on earth. I didn’t know why people went “Ga-Ga” about it. I just thought, it is a cupcake. Like every man, you just eat the cake to give you more calories or fats to build muscles.

I did my research on the best red velvet cupcakes available in KL, Malaysia and I have undergone the “test-try” session at my own expenditure. It took me 2 months. Suffice to say, I have tried most of the BIG names and I only managed to nail it THE ONE yesterday.

Here are some that might be convenient to you. No doubt they’re great but there are so much to taste, feel and think when I’ve test tried them all.

Firstly, I started with Bisou Cupcake. About RM5.50 / 6.50 per cupcake.

Bisou Cupcake Red Velvet

It was alright. 1 thing that is weird, the cake is not red…instead it’s maroon-brown like. Taste wise = it was alright for me but not what I would resort to satisfy my tastebud.

Secondly, I went to Cupcake Chic located in Sunway Pyramid new wing. If I’m not mistaken, it is about RM5.50 per cupcake. I felt the cream cheese topping melt easily (placed on the table in less than 5 minutes). The cream cheese is great (minus the red sugar sprinkles)! They nailed it. However said, I move to the cake. It was better than Bisou but I wasn’t satisfied. I couldn’t find that chemistry between the texture of their red velvet cupcake with the cream cheese topping. At one point, I felt the red sugar sprinkles that they used made the topping overly sweet. I had to drink more warm water to wash down the sweetness from my throat & tastebuds.

20130210-183719.jpg

Thirdly, I went to Wondermilk (Damansara uptown) to try their Red Velvet Cupcake that was well publicised commercially on TV and ads. It was a good impression for their promo set by the A&P of their business team. My thoughts about their cupcake = TOO stiff for a cupcake. Presentation wise, it looks “cute for the girls” but taste wise….total flop for me. I’m paying RM4.50 for a tiny little cupcake. What a waste! No quality at all. I’m disappointed.

20130210-183854.jpg

20130210-184157.jpg

The 1 beside red velvet is a Rainbow Cupcake = I would describe the same.

Then, it reminded me of how those Malay food entrepreneurs / cooks who sell Nasi Lemak around my housing area. Some of them are great but most of them are …. “average”. But 1 common thing they have, small quantity given but selling at a high price. Same goes to some of the Malay restaurants…imagine on your plate, you take 1 chicken, 1 scoop of vegetable and 1 scoop of squids and the price can go between RM8 – RM15. If it’s a Chinese restaurant (economy rice section), you’ll pay the most RM 7 – RM10. If it’s a Nasi Kandar mamak’s = they’ll charge up to RM 30. If it’s an Indian restaurant…you’ll have to avoid taking fish at all cost! Coz, they’ll charge you as though fishes are scarce in the world.

Moving on, I need to treat myself to a better Red Velvet Cupcake experience….I was thinking to myself, “What are the possibility to bump into one? Would I be let down again?” I remembered I requested from my brahh “Chinese Würst” to buy me a red velvet cupcake from Just Heavenly in Bangsar Shopping Centre as he lives in One Merenung (yeah, that million dollar condominium adjacent to BSC). I went there yesterday and asked for 1. It was about RM8.40 which I don’t mind as long as it taste good.

A lady sat next to me was eavesdropping my conversation with my brahhh. She stopped and told me…no matter what that was her best & she’ll never go anywhere else. I was amazed that she could put her assurance to the quality that I’m about to taste from that Red Velvet Cupcake. There goes my fork incised into the cupcake and into my mouth with the cream cheese topping.

The cream cheese topping was as though it is made for the King! The taste was light, fluffy and not very sweet. It was a Just Perfect!

The cake is red = GOOD!
The Taste of the cake = soft, moist, light and delicious.
Presentation wise = Made for Kings!!!! It projects a picturesque of exquisite, unique, warm in the heart and awesome.

20130210-184620.jpg

20130210-184645.jpg

20130210-184658.jpg

They do have the Red Velvet full cake as well. I was told, they’re EQUALLY Just Heavenly. Now I know what they meant by such phrase.

20130210-184824.jpg

I would put my bet on this! It’s JUST HEAVENLY!

The critics are of mine alone. It may differ from others.
If you’ve tried others and you think others are better, leave me a note on this.

7 thoughts on “BEST Red Velvet Cupcake in KL!

  1. What I find here in malaysia is a real con. The cream cheese layers are too thin. Guess its the cost of the mascarpone that puts these bakers off using it. And if they do use it, put very little into the cake.

    Best way of enjoying a proper red velvet,… bake one yourself. Its easy. Have done it myself and now just cannot find any place here in kl that truly is true to the red velvet cake.

  2. You should try SimplyCakes Red Velvet Cupcakes located in BK5 Bandar Kinrara Puchong. I think it is better than Cupcake Chic, Wondermilk etc. Check it out and contact Ms. Shoba 012 687 5057.

  3. Red Velvet cake made of beet root juice instead of red coloring is the best…. Try Happy Garden, Garden Cappuccino Cafe….. red velvet cake…

Leave a Reply

